60 Degrees of Separation

Linda Schiffer, owner of Seminole Sampler, turned 60 in November 2012. Time for another Sew and Tell production. This time I was the coordinator for the project. I’ve learned from past projects that it doesn’t pay to have too many rules when we’re doing a group project because they aren’t all going to follow them anyway. After much discussion we decided to make hexagonal blocks using a citrus color scheme. Linda and I love our hexagons!

Some of the Sew & Tell group with Linda’s quilt mostly hidden behind us.

I wanted little quilts that Linda could rearrange or group any way she chooses. I considered many different ways to connect the blocks and wandered the aisles of Michaels’, JoAnns and Hobby Lobby looking for inspiration. After binding each block separately, I finally decided to sew split rings on each corner on the back. I was going to use floral wire to connect them but that didn’t work out very well. Plan B went into effect the morning of the presentation so I just used some twine to connect them.

The blocks pinned to the wall for show and tell at Faithful Circle Quilters. Many of the Sew and Tell members belong to this guild. This is the arrangement I used when I connected the blocks before giving them to Linda. Sorry about the dirty wall.

Some of the blocks came from Linda’s designs in 3 books of paper-pieced blocks she co-authored with Jodie Davis. The books are Hearts and Flowers Quilt Block Designs, Victorian Quilt Block Designs, and Garden-inspired Quilt Block Designs. The 3 books were published as one books under the title, Quilting Made Easy.

First up: Amy

Amy’s block – Amy, Linda and I all love cats. Please note that Miss I-only-quilt-by-check HAND QUILTED this block! I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw it.

Back of Amy’s block

Aurelia crocheted the yarn for this chrysanthemum and made needle lace leaves. Linda loves everything Japanese.

Back of Aurelia’s block.

My block without the beads I added. I forgot to take a picture after I added the beads. 2012 is the year of the dragon. This is fused applique.

Back of my block.

Beth’s block. Each one she does is better than the last.

This one deserves some detail shots and explanation.

The first letters of the flower names spell Linda.

Each letter is made from a fabric whose name begins with that letter and is decorated with things that begin with that letter. The quilting around each letter is words that start with that letter. She also added buttons that say 60 and quilted the word tatsu which is Japanese for dragon.

The F is made from flannel and is decorated with flower beads and French knots.
The A is made from hand-dyed fabric from Art Fabrik.
The B is made of batik and has buttons and bugle beads (in the next picture).

The R is made of rip-stop nylon and is decorated with rickrack and a rose.
The I is iridescent fabric and has a charm that says “I love quilting”.

The C is made from cotton and is decorated with couching and crystals and charms.

Back of Beth’s block.

Deborah’s block. Deborah is one of our members who moved away. Deborah and Linda both like the designer of the fabric in the center.

Back of Deborah’s block.

Genie made a crane with beautiful free-motion embroidery wings.

Back of Genie’s block.

Kathy designed this cat sleeping on a pile of quilts because we all know that’s what cats do. See the smile on the cat’s face?

Back of Kathy’s block.

Peggy made a Texas Star. Linda lived in Texas as a teen. Peggy is a fairly new quilter. The pattern in the book I had was not the right size. Peggy figured out how to make it the correct size. Good job, Peggy!

Back of Peggy’s block.

Sandie made this block from one of Linda’s books. She added corners to make it a hexagon.

Back of Sandie’s block.

Sharon made this block of ice cream cones. I took the design from one of Linda’s books and changed it from a rectangle to a triangle. I made the paper piecing foundations for the block. Don’t they look good enough to eat?

Back of Sharon’s block.

Shelley is a sometimes here, sometimes away member. She made this log cabin, embellished with leaf buttons because they both like leaves.

Back of Shelley’s block.

Tobi is another of our away members. She made this block from another of Linda’s books after modifying the size.

Back of Tobi’s block.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

