It’s a boy!

At least, it will be soon. Linda and I share a hairdresser. She will be having her first child any day now. Last Friday, I had my last appointment until she comes back from maternity leave. After she finished with me, I told her she was free to have the baby. Of course, Linda and I made a quilt for the baby.

Cara with the quilt.

Cara with the quilt.

We used the free Wonky Zoo Pens pattern from Fabri-Quilt. It’s foundation pieced. When Linda printed the patterns, the blocks didn’t print out square. We don’t know why. That wasn’t a big deal. I just trimmed the full blocks to the correct size. For the side and corner blocks, I couldn’t figure out how to make the adjustment. It didn’t seem to matter – everything fit well enough.

In August, we did a Row by Row shop hop day in Lancaster county. We got the sashing and backing fabric at Sauder’s. The inner border/binding and crayon border came from The Old Country Store. The fabrics for my blocks came from stash. Linda bought hers because she doesn’t stash tone-on-tone “go withs”. We each pieced half the blocks. I assembled the top. Linda quilted it. I did the binding. Linda wasn’t able to be with me when I gave the quilt to Cara last week because her daughter had a baby a couple of weeks earlier – also a boy.

Front of quilt

Front of quilt. The border fabric is crayons.

Back of quilt

Back of quilt

Close up of backing. Animals in balloons.

Close up of backing. Animals in balloons.

While we were making the blocks, Linda mis-read what she was supposed to make and we ended up with an extra half-block. No problem. It was perfect for the label.

The label.

The label.

Close up of label text

Close up of label text

Close up of quilting

Close up of quilting

Close up of quilting

Close up of quilting

Close up of quilting

Close up of quilting

Cara was thrilled with the quilt. She better have that baby soon so she’ll be ready to come back and do my cut and color in early February. I’ll probably be cutting bits off here and there before that.

One Response to “It’s a boy!”

  1. Michelle Says:

    That’s a really pretty quilt! The blocks remind me of broken tiles.

Leave a Reply

