Cancelled, again!

I’m very glad that I don’t live in Boston. Our winter hasn’t been so bad, but I’m getting sick and tired of everything being cancelled because of weather. It’s the timing of the storms that has been the problem. Mimi Dietrich‘s grad school class was supposed to meet today but we were cancelled again. This group was also cancelled last month. Baltimore Applique Society was also cancelled in Jan and Feb. My guild has a group that meets every Monday evening and a group that meets every Thursday morning. Now that I’m retired, I go to both. I’ve lost count of how many times we’ve been cancelled this year. Tonight’s meeting is cancelled. I need to do laundry but my dryer vent is buried under snow and ice. Guess I’ll have to go out in the rain on Wed and try to free it.

I feel like I’m trapped in the house. The front of my house faces north and doesn’t get any sunshine so my steps and walk are solid ice. I do have some cleat things for walking on ice that I can strap on my shoes if I want to leave.

What’s the forecast for the rest of the week? Tues – Freezing rain, Wed – rain, Thurs – Snow. What do you want to bet that Thursday’s guild meeting is cancelled? Our daytime temps are supposed to be in the 50s this time of year.

If you haven’t heard, Mimi Dietrich is being inducted into the Quilter’s Hall of Fame this year. She’s having her students make blocks for a quilt to give to the Hall of Fame. They were due today. Mimi provided the background, stems, flower center and fabric for one leaf. The flower color and remaining leaves were our choice but had to be batiks.

I haven’t done hand applique in quite a while – longer than I realized. I’m sorry to say that this block isn’t the best work I’ve ever done. It did turn out better than I feared it was going to. Don’t look too closely, 🙂

wpid-20150302_133518.jpg

The stem looks a lot more puckered in the picture than it does in person. Guess I’d better spend more time with the steam iron before I send it off to Mimi.

The Cherokee Rose block was designed by Marie Webster in 1916.

Tags:

One Response to “Cancelled, again!”

  1. linda schiffer Says:

    Sick of cancellations – you and me both!!

    🙂 Linda

Leave a Reply

