Row by Row: Maryland Eastern Shore

Last week, Patty, Linda and I visited several shops on the eastern shore side of Maryland. Linda has pictures of the insides of the shops on her blog.

I finally got an EZPass for the trip now that Maryland got rid of the ridiculous monthly maintenance fee for people like me who only need to pay a toll occasionally. There’s a toll going east over the Bay Bridge but no toll coming back. Now that I’m retired, I’ll be going up to Chicago to visit my brother after visiting our parents. It’s tolls all the way from Chicago through PA. It will be much easier to not have to stop to pay the tolls plus you get a discount in some places with the EZPass. Illinois has IPass but the two are reciprocal.

Our first stop was Lillies of the Field in Easton, MD.

wpid-20150701_095240.jpg

wpid-20150701_095213.jpg

I didn’t think I’d been here but Patty assures me that we visited this shop years ago when we went to a Mary Ellen Hopkins seminar but you sure couldn’t prove it by me. She’s usually right about that sort of thing. At any rate, the store was in a different location back then so, actually, we’re both right. This was a small, cute, bright shop. The owner has been trying to sell it for several years so I don’t know how long it will remain in business. It’s unlikely that we’ll revisit this shop.

Some fat quarters for my color scheme and purple and orange, because!

Some fat quarters for my color scheme and purple and orange, because!

The second stop was The Quilt Vine in Trappe, MD. This is a new shop that has been in business for 3 years. None of us have been here before. It is in an old house. Although they had a handicapped parking space, I didn’t see any handicapped access into the shop. Fun shop with lots of good stuff. There could well be additional visits here in our future.

wpid-20150701_104721.jpg

Some fat quarters for my grandpa's farm quilt (someday) and some of the Row by Row H2O fabric.

Some fat quarters for my grandpa’s farm quilt (someday), some neutral fabrics with writing and some of the Row by Row blue H2O fabric.

We stopped for lunch at the Cambridge Diner in Cambridge, MD. The lunch specials were a main dish, soup or salad bar, 2 sides, rolls and desert for $10. The applesauce was chunky and I’m guessing homemade. Very good. The baby back ribs needed to cook a while longer to be falling off the bone the way I like them, though. No one left hungry.

Our third shop was a long drive after lunch down to Pocomoke City, MD to The Pincushion. Very discreet signage. We passed it and went twice around the block before spotting the sign.

wpid-20150701_140950.jpg

Very small shop with a nice fabric selection. The row design was an artsy landscape of window views representing the four seasons of the shore. l got the kit because I don’t stash the type of materials needed to do this sort of thing. The question remains as to whether I will ever make the row. I wouldn’t put money on it, but you never know – stranger things have happened.

The row as kitted. However, the kit didn't include the "wall" fabric around the windows.

The row as kitted. However, the kit didn’t include the “wall” fabric around the windows. The following four pictures are closeups.

wpid-20150701_140232.jpg

wpid-20150701_140229.jpg

wpid-20150701_140223.jpg

wpid-20150701_140219.jpg

Other variations of the row:

Individual windows.

Individual windows.

Village scenes.

Village scenes.

Another shore version.

Another shore version.

Pastoral scenes.

Pastoral scenes.

There were many more colors of this nice blender but I limited myself to these four and the row kit because it included embellishments. I don't have that kind of thing hanging around waiting to be used.

There were many more colors of this nice blender print but I limited myself to these four. I got the row kit because it included the embellishments. I don’t keep that kind of thing hanging around waiting to be used.

Unfortunately, the restroom area of the shop turned me off. It was extremely narrow (maybe 2 ft wide from wall to wall), not very nice (reminded me of creepy gas station bathrooms) and the back of the store smelled badly – sewer gas vent problem? We all agreed that we didn’t need to go here again. Even though she had a nice selection, it’s just too far away.

Turning around, we retraced our steps to our fourth shop, The Dusty Attic in Fruitland, MD. This was another shop in an old house. I love the mosaic stars in the walkway to the porch.

wpid-20150701_144111.jpg

wpid-20150701_145759.jpg

The row pattern and kit

The row pattern and kit.

Nothing here that excited me and I don’t expect to go here again. However, we were all impressed with the way they handled the row pattern and kits. The pattern was laminated – no crumpled paper pattern by the time you get it home. They offered two kit options. One was fish fabric for broderie perse type applique. That’s the one I chose. The other was a fun fabric for cutting out fish using the pattern.

Our fifth and last shop for the day was Peggy’s Sewing Center in Centreville, MD. Although many in our guild have been there while on retreat, none of us have been there. We got there 15-20 minutes before closing time and didn’t notice until we were in the car to go home that it was well after closing time when we finished. The woman helping us never said a word about it being closing time and didn’t try to rush us. This is a nice large shop and we all found wonderful things.

A couple of Kaffe Fassett collective fish prints and a very cool cemetery print. I think I'll use that on the back of Buster Cat Does Halloween. Maybe this will be the incentive I need to get back to that project - I've only made one block.

A trio of Kaffe Fassett collective fish prints and a very cool cemetery print. They only had 3.5 yards left which isn’t enough. I think I’ll use ot on the back of Buster Cat Does Halloween. Maybe this will be the incentive I need to get back to that project – I’ve only made one block.

We headed for home during evening rush. Once we got to the bridge, traffic was mostly going the opposite direction. A very successful and enjoyable day was had by all. Next trip:  Lancaster co, PA.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

