Row by Row: Central Illinois

Of course, I had to visit some quilt shops while I was home. Didn’t have time to visit all the shops in surrounding towns so I picked two that had nice row patterns and that I’d never been to before. I’d heard about them from a couple of people I met at my first Jinny Beyer Hilton Head seminar. Who would have thought I’d meet people from my Illinois home town down in South Carolina?

I would like to have stopped at the shop in Arthur, IL but I didn’t want to cut the timing too closely. I needed to get home in time to have lunch and relax before changing for the wedding and driving there. There was more driving involved than I would have liked because one shop was an hour east of town and the other an hour northwest of town.

First I drove to Paris, IL to Lori’s Pins ‘n Needles. This is a good sized store for a small town. I picked up the kit for this one because of the embellishments. How could I pass up their license plate? And, the background with writing on it?

wpid-20150814_133807.jpg

I picked up a few fat quarters in my color scheme.

I picked up a few fat quarters in my color scheme.

The second shop was Stewarts Sewing Machines in Mt. Zion, IL. This is a much smaller shop than Lori’s. I got a newspaper print, a texting print, and a coral for my shop hop default color scheme.

wpid-20150814_133949.jpg

Surprize, I went to a third shop. It was a few blocks from the wedding venue. The wedding was at 5 p.m., so how could I not go to the quilt shop first? Main Street Quilt Company is in Shelbyville, IL. They had two row by row patterns, one applique and one pieced. I got the kit for the applique because it had the printed sign for Lake Shelbyville. That meant I could get the pieced pattern free. I managed to resist buying other fabric.

wpid-20150814_133458.jpg

The day after the wedding I headed up to Chicago to visit my brother for a few days. Of course I stopped at a coupld of shops on the way. One had a license plate I had to have and the other had a cute pattern.

I keep getting the name wrong on this store: Sew Sassy in Urbana, IL. It’s in the Lincoln Square Mall which looks to be on it’s last legs. Not many stores or customers. It’s a nice little store. They were out of license plates so I had to have them mailed. I graduated from University of Illinois so was happy to pick up the block I print.

wpid-20150814_133210.jpg

Not much further up the road was Kathys Needle And I in Rantoul, IL. She has a dog thing, specifically scotties, going on. I picked up some a tractor advertising print and a dog rescue print.

wpid-20150814_132959.jpg

How cute are these guys?

How cute are these guys?

I considered stopping at a shop closer to Chicago but their web site was broken and I was kind of shopped out.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

