Quilters Hall of Fame: Mimi Dietrich

In 1998 I took Mimi Dietrich’s year long Baltimore Album class. No, I haven’t finished the quilt yet. Our class was invited to join her grad school class so I’ve been attending every month since then. When Mimi announced that she was selected to be inducted into the Quilters Hall of Fame in Marion, IN, we all said “Road trip!” She found someone to arrange a bus trip which I eventually signed up for. I dithered about signing up for the bus trip because Indiana is so close to home. I considered combining my summer trip to Illinois with the trip to Indiana. But, I didn’t want to go alone and didn’t want to subject someone else to a visit to my parents. As it turned out, going on the bus trip in July (I’m posting out of order) was a good decision because my summer trip ended up being in August to attend Rachel’s wedding.

I didn’t take many pictures. We milled around in the parking lot at our departure location while we waited for the bus.

On the way.

On the way.

Marion, IN had no idea what was in store for them. There was a hitch in the git-a-long that caused us to be quite late for supper in the park. For reasons unknown to us we had to stop in PA to change drivers. That took about 45 minutes. Why it took so long, no one understands. Then, it was time for lunch so we had another stop. Why didn’t they combine the driver change with the lunch stop? One of those mysteries of life. We had a busload of cranky quilters.

When Mimi told people a bus was coming, they all pictured a small bus holding maybe 20 people, not a touring coach with 50 people! Mimi said that when we finally arrived and everyone came out to welcome us, Hazel Carter said, “That’s a bus!” I wish I had pictures of the gardens to show but my phone was dead and my camera was packed in my suitcase in the bottom of the bus. Yes, bad planning on my part.

After we ate, we had a little time to walk in the gardens before it got too dark. The weather was beautiful. I hoped to get back to the gardens to get pictures later in the weekend but it just didn’t happen.

On Thursday I went downtown and walked around looking at the decorated windows some of the businesses did.

I found this mural of famous people from Marion, IN, including Marie Webster, whose house is now the Quilters Hall of Fame.

QHOF 006

QHOF 007

QHOF 008

Another thing to see in Marion is the Garfield trail. I ran across this Garfield. I couldn’t get up close because the gate was locked.

QHOF 026

The large pink pads at the back are arranged as a cat’s paw.

QHOF 027

I was scheduled to attend the Eleanor Burns bed turning so headed toward the venue which was a lovely bed and breakfast or inn. If you ever go to Marion, make sure the water is filtered before you drink it. This place had unfiltered water – it was horrible. I couldn’t drink it.

QHOF 040

There were lots of quilts around the room. I took some pictures of the quilts Eleanor showed and tried to get some good pictures of her but she moved too fast.

In the afternoon, I visited the exhibit of quilts from Mimi’s grad school class and the local guild. There was also an exhibit of antique red and green quilts (requested by Mimi) from the collection of Pat and Arlan Christ. I can only show a few of the many quilts in the exhibits.

This was my contribution to the exhibit.

QHOF 121

2001: A Calendar Odyssey

2001: A Calendar Odyssey

Kay does the most wonderful things with fabric. This is one of my favorites of her quilts with some detail shots of some of my favorite blocks.

This was an unusual block in the antique quilts.

QHOF 158 QHOF 159 QHOF 160

I’m a sucker for anything positive/negative. This was from the local guild’s display.

QHOF 192
QHOF 193

QHOF 194

This antique Baltimore Album quilt was hung for a short time because it is so large – 10 feet square! It’s pretty spectacular.

QHOF 204

On Friday I was scheduled for Sue Troyan’s log cabin workshop. I signed up for it because I wanted to do something with Sue who is lots of fun. I would have signed up for her Aunt Pittypat lecture but it conflicted with Eleanor Burns. Unfortunately, Sue had to cancel due to a death in the family. I decided to stay in the class to have something to do. I’ll show my log cabin results in a later post.

We had to scurry after class to get on the bus to the luncheon venue which was out in the country. This was Mimi’s big talk.

wpid-20150718_183039.jpg

wpid-20150718_194512.jpg

I’m afraid I’ve forgotten who the super hero was.

wpid-20150718_204116.jpg

Friday night was show and tell. But, before that Kristen talked about the Stitching History project and showed the reproduction of the Star Spangled Banner flag we made. It’s 30′ x 42′. That’s right folks, those are feet! It is one huge flag.

wpid-20150716_184456.jpg

The Star Spangled Banner reproduction.

Mimi and Norma Campbell always run the show and tell night at the Quilt Odyssey show in Hershey, PA. They teamed up again for show and tell in Marion. It was hard to get a good picture because they were moving too fast and there were a lot of other people jumping in the way to get their pictures.

Mimi and Norma dressed up for show and tell.

Mimi and Norma dressed up for show and tell.

During the night I got sick. I thought I was ok in the morning and went downtown to the Hall of Fame. How could I go to the Hall of Fame induction without actually going to the Hall of Fame? It quickly became clear that I wasn’t well enough to be out and about. The bus organizer was there and offered to take me back to the hotel. While I waited and drank my water  – Kay kept telling me, “Drink! Drink! You’re dehydrated.” – I wandered through the garden looking at the bricks and found the one the bus trip bought.

QHOF 206

Saturday night was the big dinner where everyone said nice things about Mimi. She was surprised but pleased to see her 9 year old granddaughter get up and speak. I met Eleanor Burns in the ladies room.

On Sunday we headed for home.

The weather had not been kind to western Ohio and eastern Indiana. I’ve never seen corn like that. I couldn’t get a good picture from the bus. Here are a couple of pictures of flooded fields.

QHOF 218 QHOF 216

We were all surprised to get Tow Mater!

QHOF 209

We had a surprise stop at Quilt Trends in Worthington, OH (suburb north of Columbus). Someone thought it was only going to take a half hour for a bus full of quilters to shop. The shop was only running one register so it took an hour and a half to get everyone checked out.

Waiting to check out.

Waiting to check out. The line winds all the way around to the back of the store.

Quilt Trends row design for Row by Row.

Quilt Trends row design for Row by Row.

They had some lovely patterns by a local designer. I settled on the Christmas tree. I’ve collected quite a few license plates so got a pattern for using some of those. I have another pattern I bought last year that uses the fabric plates as the license plates on cars. Must sew faster – yes, I must!

wpid-20150902_112029.jpg

We didn’t get home until 9:30 or so that night. Cowboy got the luggage unloaded from the bus in record time. I was home by 10:30. We were all glad to be off the bus.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

