Row by Row: The Final Expedition

Yes, one more Row by Row expedition to recount. Linda, Patty and I had a beautiful day for our final jaunt. This trip took us through 3 states.

We began with a stop at Traditions at the White Swan in Hagerstown, MD, a shop we’ve all been to many times. I’ve picked up patterns here in the past that are the size for the stand. I decided I’d better get the stand while I still could. The green ric-rac was for a demo piece I needed to make for Mimi’s Grad School in September. There is a packet of snowflake buttons. I have no idea what I was thinking when I got those. I must have had something in mind for them. Maybe it will come to me.

wpid-20150913_125309.jpg

The second stop was All About Fabric in Martinsburg, WV. None of us had been here before. This is a small shop that also sells window blinds. I was greeted at the door by a very large dog, Sasha (?), who was very sweet. But, poor thing, the shop was so small, she kept getting in the way and they sent her to her kennel. She looked so sad. She just wanted to be with the people. Most of the fabric here was 50% off. We can’t figure out how they stay in business. Linda and I had to get some of this cat fabric.

wpid-20150913_125049.jpg

We had lunch at a restaurant a couple of blocks down the street. There was a chocolatier on the way so I had to get some chocolate. The owner here recommended we eat at the restaurant next door to the one we had intended to go to. Lunch was good but the service was extremely slow. I can’t remember the name of the restaurant.

The next stop was Liberty View Quilt Shop in Cross Junction, VA. This was also new to all of us. This was an unusual shop out in the middle of nowhere. Take a look at the sign leading to the shop: Antiques, Collectibles, Propane, UHaul.

wpid-20150825_134152.jpg

The row design was done in memory of the owner’s recently deceased mother who loved gardening.

wpid-20150913_124932.jpg

Next was The Scrappy Apple, Quilts & More in Winchester, VA. Scrappy Apple joined the Quilters Quest several years ago so we’ve all been here. This isn’t a large shop but is very nice. I picked up a coral fat quarter and a turquoise piece for our current grad school project. Unfortunately, I forgot about this and made my grad school piece without including this fabric. Sigh. Cut the Scraps – indeed!

wpid-20150913_125745.jpg

From there we headed off to Cloth Peddler Quilt Shop in Stephen’s City, VA. The store was new to all of us but as soon as I walked in the door, I recognized this as a vendor I’ve bought from at area shows. There was some excitement going on with police coming and going. Someone had been calling local businesses, pretending to be the power company and threatening to cut off their power if they didn’t immediately make payment.

My friend Polly has an antique mariner’s compass quilt that I would love to reproduce. These might work for one of the fabrics in that quilt. If not, they’re still pretty.

wpid-20150913_125557.jpg

Our last shop of the day was Webfabrics in Purcellville, VA. This is one of my all time favorite shops. I’m so glad this shop isn’t closer to me. When I made that comment to the clerks, one said, “we’re as close as your computer”. I do order things online from various places but usually only when I want something specific that I can’t get locally. I’d rather fondle fabric in person. One thing I had on my list for this shop from my online search was more of the white fabric from the wedding quilt. I found a pattern to use for the wedding quilt leftovers but I didn’t have enough of the white. The other fabrics are just because.

wpid-20150913_124533.jpg

I got some rattail cord and beads for potential use on my grad school project. I couldn’t resist the pattern with two sizes of dresden plates. I don’t know what colors I’ll use but it probably won’t be brown. The rainbow colors above the pattern is their row design.

wpid-20150913_124425.jpg

I always try to get to Webfabrics at meal time so we can eat at Magnolia’s at the Mill. We had excellent dinners. I had seared scallops on pesto risotto with tomatoes – a reasonable portion but very rich. I cleaned my plate. Patty’s dinner was big enough to feed a small family. She ended up taking most of it home. For dessert, Linda and I both had the Chocolate Story: (Gluten Free) Flourless Chocolate Cake, Chocolate Ganache, Chocolate Mousse, Toasted Meringue, Caramel Sauce. It was a work of art. Neither one of us thought to take a picture. I took half of mine home.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

