All the Shiny New Projects: Florals

Earlier this year, I went through my collection of quilting magazines from the last few years and tore out the patterns I wanted and took the rest to my guild. My new system is to put the new magazines in a magazine rack. I got this one from the Container Store. Each title is in a different slot and 3-4 issues fit in each slot. When a new one comes in, the oldest one needs to leave.

While looking through the January 2015 issue of Quiltmaker I saw this pattern. First I said no, then yes, then maybe, then yes. Back and forth. Eventually I decided yes, and the next thing I knew I was downstairs pulling florals and greens. I intended to prep it so I could do the hand buttonhole stitch on the trip to Quilters Hall of Fame. Need I say that didn’t happen? Before I knew it, the top was done.

Blocks laid out on the cutting table to get an idea of how they would look.

Some blocks laid out on the cutting table to get an idea of how they would look.

wpid-20150518_194822.jpg

The finished top.

After a local quilt show, Patty wanted to stop at Hancock Fabrics since it was just around the corner. I had no plan to buy anything but this flannel fabric jumped off the shelf and insisted I buy it for the back. I said, “No” and put it back. It jumped off again and stomped its feet and said, “yes, yes, yes, you have to buy me, I’m perfect!” I gave in. It’s perfect.

wpid-20150424_175251.jpg

I found the perfect quilting design while going through an older issue of American Quilter. I don’t have it handy right now and I don’t have a picture.

I wasn’t ready to be finished working with the florals. So, I decided to cut strips from each of my florals and a coordinating green to make 16 patch blocks. I’ve been watching Wanda make them and got the itch. Normally these blocks are made with a light and a dark. I’m not doing that. I’m replacing light and dark with floral and green. Sometimes my floral is lighter than the green and sometimes the green is lighter than the floral. I’m sure it will all work out. Here’s the pile of florals I cut from:

wpid-20150925_134512.jpg

After watching this video from Lisa Bongean of Primitive Gatherings, I’ve been starching strips before making the blocks. I made the pile of blocks next to the fabrics in the picture above before I had to stop to work on the wedding quilt. Eventually I got back to cutting and starching strips. Here are some strips on the drying rack.

wpid-20150525_112313.jpg

I finished cutting and have these 2 bins of strips ready to be starched and sewn.

wpid-20150925_135203.jpg

Here are some of the blocks I’ve made so far:

wpid-20150925_134809.jpg

Aren’t they lovely? Here’s the pile:

wpid-20150925_134854.jpg

When all the blocks are made, I’ll pick my favorites and make a spring or summer quilt for my bed. The rest will make donation quilts.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

