Celtic Solstice: Ready to Assemble

Celtic Solstice was Bonnie Hunter’s 2013 free mystery quilt. This project has been a thorn in my side from the very beginning. Easy Street in 2012 was the first of Bonnie’s mysteries that I had done. I stated my intention to use my own color scheme for the next year’s quilt. But, when Bonnie posted her colors, I had to go with them because those were the ones I have the most fabrics of.

While I was able to keep up with Easy Street until I went away for the holidays, I got behind on Celtic Solstice the first week. Bonnie recommends leaving the clue and moving on to the next one when it is published. I did that but I didn’t like it. I did a very bad job of keeping track of where I was on each clue. For example, I wrote on one clue that I needed 100 blue triangles. So, I cut 100 blue triangles. Then, when I pulled the parts out of the basket, I found 100 blue triangles already cut. Well, darn. That was a waste of time.

I’ve been working on this project non-stop for the last 2-3 weeks. I’m so sick of this one right now. I’m determined to finish this before the next mystery starts in November. I finished the last of the blocks today. Some people made a variation on one of the blocks to make another star. I decided to make 13 blocks with the alternate layout and 12 the way Bonnie intended. Here are the blocks laid out on my design bed.

wpid-20151011_153649.jpg

On my way upstairs the pin container fell and dropped pins everywhere as it bounced down the steps. It was still closed when it landed at the bottom of the stairs. How does that happen? Here’s what I ended up with when I got it all gathered up.

wpid-20151011_154111.jpg

The pins all bounced out of their sections and that forced the edge open enough for pins to fall out and move into other pins sections. Sigh. These pins have numbers on them but only on one side. I wish they had the numbers on both sides because they always seem to flip and show the unmarked side.

Here are two of the columns all collected and pinned with their column numbers.

wpid-20151011_155335.jpg

I got two colums all sewn together. My accuracy on this project has been horrible but the blocks did all turn out to be 9.5″ish. Whatever. Between my steam iron and my long-arm quilter, any fluffiness will quilt out. Despite the inaccuracy, the blocks look pretty good. There are a few bad intersections but if someone is going to look at it that closely, they should have something to find.

Do you web your quilt tops when you assemble them? I do that with blocks but it’s too much for me to handle with a whole quilt. I like to sew 2 columns at a time, then sew 2 sets of columns together, etc., until the whole quilt is assembled. Mary Ellen Hopkins called this making cities, countrys, continents and the planet is the finished top.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Celtic Solstice: Ready to Assemble”

  1. Janet H Says:

    Your quilt is certainly beautiful–love your fabric choices. Thanks for sharing your experiences–I’ve had some of the same, with accidentally cutting extra blocks after putting the project aside for a time. It was interesting to hear that you sew in columns. I have always done rows, and I can see advantages to the column technique instead. Have had this quilt on my mind for months–you’ve just encouraged me to go ahead with it, (after I complete my current large project). Hope you post a photo upon completion.

    • Barbara Says:

      Thank you for leaving a comment. Re: sewing in columns, I realized that wasn’t really clear. I just published a post explaining how I assemble the quilt top.  The top and back are now finished and will be in the next post. Barbara Bennett, Columbia, MD From: Stash Overflow To: barbara_a_bennett@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, October 12, 2015 12:10 AM Subject: [Stash Overflow] Comment: “Celtic Solstice: Ready to Assemble” #yiv7934229172 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7934229172 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7934229172 a.yiv7934229172primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7934229172 a.yiv7934229172primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7934229172 a.yiv7934229172primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7934229172 a.yiv7934229172primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7934229172 WordPress.com | | |

Leave a Reply

