Sourdough Stars

After I finish a big project, like Celtic Solstice, I flounder around for a bit. I spend a few days working on mindless piecing as something of a palatte cleanser. I spent a few days making Wild and Goosey blocks.

wpid-20151024_163813.jpg

Not entirely mindless but they served the purpose. I piddled around tidying things up around the studio getting ready for Bonnie Hunter season. While doing that I ran across the bonus triangle squares from Grand Illusion. They hadn’t been pressed yet so I did that. The next thing I knew I was cutting fabric for the squares needed for Pinky Swear, designed by Jo Kramer to use the bonus triangle squares.

wpid-20151123_184152.jpg

That used the pink/neutral half-square triangle squares but I still had the brown/neutral squares. I decided that since I had a pink and brown top, I should make a blue and brown top. I finished it on Sunday.

wpid-20151123_184201.jpg

Here they are side by side.

wpid-20151123_184139.jpg

I’m calling these Sourdough Stars because the bonus triangles they started with are the quilting equivalent of sourdough starter. You take some leftovers from a project, add some new stuff and get another quilt top.

Only 3 more sleeps until the first Bonnie Hunter Mystery clue!

Tags:

One Response to “Sourdough Stars”

  1. Sourdough Stars finished | Stash Overflow Says:

    […] squares from making Bonnie Hunter’s 2014 mystery, Grand Illusion. I previously wrote about these as tops. I’ve started thinking of them as Pinky and Blue […]

Leave a Reply

