Allietare: Clue 2

Friday morning gave us the second clue for the mystery. Thoughts of the new clue coming drove everything else out of my mind. When I felt awake enough to want to look at the clue, I turned over and reached for the tablet. I saw the time on the clock and suddenly remembered that I had an appointment for a haircut that morning. Oh, crap! What time is the appointment? Whew. I had 10 minutes I could use to take a look at the clue before hopping into the shower to get to the appointment on time.

Got home around 11:30 and started cutting.

20151204_143643.jpg

Uh, oh. By noon I ran out of fabric for my constant fabric but I hadn’t finished cutting for the clue. Normally, I round up when buying for a specific pattern. Had I followed my normal practice, I would have bought 2 yards instead of the specified 1.5 yards. I guess I was trying not to end up with extra fabric for stash the day I bought it and only got the 1.5 yards. I ran out because I neglected to consider the waste for die cutting.

Now I had a dilemma. The quilt shop where I bought it is a 45 minute drive from my house. I would be at the shop on Monday for an event. Could I wait until then? No, I couldn’t. I would have spent the weekend worrying about whether they had the fabric or not. I went to a closer shop first in case they had the same fabric. They didn’t. Didn’t take me long to decide to go ahead and go to the other shop. I chalked up the cost of gas and time as payment to relieve the anxiety of not having the fabric.

I quickly found the fabric and bought another yard. I suspect we may be finished with the constant fabric which would mean I could have gotten by with half a yard but better to be safe than sorry. I can always use the extra for binding if that color works for that.

I used the flippy corners method so the constant squares were cut with the die cutter. The rectangles were a different story. They are a non-standard size so no die for them. Since I only needed one strip per fabric, I went to my next best tool for accurate strip cutting – the Stripology ruler. Go to the linked site to see details about the ruler. It is similar to the June Tailor Shape Cut and Shape Cut Plus but better.

20151204_145029.jpg

It has slots for the rotary cutter every half inch. I cut in the 0 slot to cut off the raggy edge on the left and then in the 2″ slot.

20151204_145239.jpg

Shows where the strip was cut.

I starched the strips based on this video by Lisa Bongean of Primitive Gatherings. The strips do distort a little while they dry or maybe it’s because I don’t have a gridded ironing surface and iron them crooked. I’ll have to experiment with that. But, I find it doesn’t matter that much when I’m cutting small pieces from the strip. I can work around any distortion. I also use the Stripology to cut the rectangles from the strips.

20151205_160552.jpg

20151205_160628.jpg

Four perfect rectangles. I doubled the strip before cutting.

For Grand Illusion, the 2014 mystery, I drew lines for the flippy corners. That wasn’t fully successful for me. Earlier this year one of my old tools turned up. The tool is The Angler from Pam Bono designs (no longer available). I forgot to take pictures while I was sewing. The tool is taped to the machine bed. Instead of drawing lines on the fabric, you just position your piece under the needle and guide the fabric according to the lines on the tool.

20151208_171222.jpg

Clue 2 all done. The squares are on the right. Wonder what makes the purples glow in the photo?

20151208_171938.jpg

What’s this?

Call me crazy (and many have) but, yes, I went there. 160 bonus triangles that finish .75″. I’ll have to wait and see what else is left over to add to it for a miniature quilt of some sort when Allietare is complete.

20151208_171924.jpg

It measures a perfect 1.25″. The ruler must have slipped while I was moving things around to try (unsuccessfully) to eliminate the glare and shadow.

This is a picture of The Angler after I’ve sewn the last bonus triangle square. It occurred to me that if the original line can be sewn following lines on the tool, I could draw additional lines that would produce bonus triangles of a specific size. The blue lines are the lines I drew. On the right behind the needle, you can see the corner of the fabric touching a line. The stitching from the first line is lined up with a line to the left of the needle. I hope all that makes sense.

20151205_162522.jpg

While this tool is no longer available, I know of three similar tools on the market now:

Too bad none of them had the bonus triangle square idea. My tool has seen better days and is pretty flimsy. I’d like to see the Seams So Easy tool – sounds like it is a thicker product. I have an idea how to temporarily modify it with quarter-inch tape to do bonus triangles.

These tools aren’t just for sewing flippy corners. You can also use them for straight quarter-inch seams.

See what everyone else has done at this week’s link-up.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Allietare: Clue 2”

  1. The Joyful Quilter Says:

    You’re not crazy! (Yes, I went there, too! Just not on as grand a scale.) Who could resist those teeny tiny HSTs???

  2. Vireya Says:

    Your constant fabric is really pretty. I’m glad you could get more of it!

  3. Rita Says:

    They now have issued “The Angler 2” I love mine!!

    • Barbara Says:

      Thank you for commenting. The Angler 2 is no longer available unless a retailer has old stock. Pam Bono and her husband died last year and their children closed the business.

      I think I might try Eleanor Burns’ version and/or the Lori Holt tool.

      Clearly Perfect Angles appears to be a thin, clinging plastic which won’t work with my setup right now. I need to lower the lift position stop in the sewing table to get a flat surface but the bolt is stuck.

      Barbara Bennett,
      Columbia, MD

Leave a Reply

