Oops. I did it again!

I couldn’t help myself – I started another project. I read this post showing the Dutch 9-patch and started envisioning the blocks with florals and go-withs. She did a 12″ block which makes for some odd measurements for the center 9-patch. I drafted it as a 9″ block which makes for more pleasant cutting – 3.5″ and 1.5″. I finished the cutting yesterday. I don’t know what word to use to describe how I feel when I see a box like this full of block kits ready for sewing. It gives me a thrill.

20160327_135837.jpg

I have no idea how many block kits there are and I don’t really care. I’ll probably pick my favorite blocks for a quilt for me and the rest will make quilts that will eventually live with other people. Patty thought it was rash of me to cut all the fabric without sewing a test block. I told her that I have faith that math works.

For the most part I cut a 3.5″ strip from each fabric, then subcut it to get the squares. What do you get when you do this? Scraps, lots of scraps. I was already drowning in scraps.

The left picture is 3.5″ strips left from cutting fabrics that were full width. The fabrics on top of the bin in the center are the crumbs left from cutting a 1.5″ square from a floral 1.5″ x 3.5″ strip. They’ll be good for more Wild and Goosey blocks. The mound above the top of the tub on the right is the remainder of strips from fat quarters and less than full width fabrics.

I got my sewing machine back from the Bernina hospital a couple of weeks ago. I didn’t want to set it up until the stop in the cabinet was moved so it sits flat. I still can’t budge the nut. Barbara L volunteered her son to help so I’ll have to take her up on that but not until after our guild’s quilt show. I went ahead and set up the machine so I could sew some blocks to see how they look. It felt really good to sew again.

While tidying up a while back I found some more leader/ender spool block kits. These were done while doing the above blocks.

20160327_154508.jpg

What am I going to do about the scraps? I think I have a plan. My friend, Clara, has a unique way of getting her hand applique done. One day at Mimi’s Grad School class she was showing a quilt and said, “This is my Dr. Phil quilt.” We asked for an explanation. She has one project she allocates to work on while watching Dr. Phil and another for Jeopardy/Wheel of Fortune. So, what if I work on sewing scraps while watching the evening news instead of sitting upstairs playing games on the computer? Do you think if I do this I can use the scraps faster than I make new ones? Check back in a few months and we’ll see how it’s going.

I started tonight with the tail ends of the 3.5″ strips. I decided they should be strips like Chinese coins. I got 2 longish strips sewn. The rest of the pieces should get sewn tomorrow night since we have no guild meeting because it’s Easter Monday and the church is closed.

I really have to get sleeves made and sewn onto the last 3 quilts entered in the show. Someone in guild said one of the local stores had the ready-made sleeves but I forgot which store it was. What are the chances they’ll still have some?

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Oops. I did it again!”

  1. stitchinggrandma Says:

    What a great scrap busting idea! My friends all gift me scraps and I was doing well cutting into “my scrap storage” system until I got busy. Now I need to focus on tidying up the baskets and bags o’scraps. It is kind of fun to pull out surprises from the bag that others think are not worthy of keeping! Love the spool blocks!

    • Barbara Says:

      Thanks! These particular spools are kind of boring compared to some others I’ve done. I need to cut more spool block kits. I’ve only made a couple hundred of them. A big quilt needs a whole lot more since they’re only 3″. Barbara Bennett, Columbia, MD

  2. stitchinggrandma Says:

    Holy cow…3″ spools….

    • Barbara Says:

      The 3″ spools are Bonnie Hunter’s leader/ender challenge from a few years ago. They are so fun to make and very easy. Barbara Bennett, Columbia, MD

Leave a Reply

