Lost and Found

Years ago when I didn’t have broadband internet access at home I bought a USB drive so to transport files between work, where we had a T1 line,  and home. That worked great until the day I couldn’t find the drive. I worried that it might have fallen out of my bag somewhere away from home – I had personal financial files on it that I wouldn’t want in other hands. I mostly thought it fell down into the loveseat which is a double recliner.

20160520_233646.jpg

When I change purses, some stuff always seems to get left behind in the old purse. The other day it was time to change purses again so I took my current purse and 3 prior ones and emptied everything out to decide what should go into the new purse. I know you’re already ahead of me – I found the USB drive tucked away in a small pocket in one of the purses. I KNOW I checked the pockets of that purse when I was actively looking for the drive and didn’t find it. I guess it tucked itself away in a lining fold and hid until now. What a relief!

At some point at work, they started encrypting files copied to removable media. Now, I need to find the paperwork I brought home with the password and instructions on how to access those encrypted files. I should be able to access the files added to the drive before the encryption began being used.

Wednesday I went to the library and then to the battery store to get a new battery for my cell phone. When I got to the battery store, my reading glasses were gone. I hang them on the neck of my shirt and the seat belt often flips them off. Did I leave them at home or did I lose them at the library? They aren’t my only pair so it wasn’t that big a deal. I figured if they flipped off and out of the car at the library, they would have been run over by now. I had to go back to the library today to pick up a hold book. Someone had turned in my glasses. Yeah!

The quilt shop in town decided to feature a guild every month starting with Faithful Circle Quilters. During the month of May we get a 15% discount instead of the 10% Monday guild discount. I took advantage of it and bought 9 yards of the row by row houses fabric for the back of That Town and Country Quilt that I am 5 months behind on.

20160517_163826.jpg

Perfect, right?

I followed that by a visit to JoAnn’s to get some solids for machine quilting practice. There was a display toward the front of the store with solids that were 30% off so I picked things from that shelf. After pulling several bolts down, I happened to notice the price – $14.99 a yard. What!? They were very nice but I’m not paying that kind of price at JoAnn’s. I looked a little more closely and discovered they were Cloud 9 brand, organic cotton, made in the USA. I put those back and pulled from the $7-8 range. After getting cut, I discovered cheap solids father back in the store.

20160514_164951.jpg

Each of these is 1/3 yard so 4 yards.

Today was a perfect spring day, weather-wise. That has been very rare this year. It has rained most days for the past month. So we had about 36 hours or so without rain. Of course, the rain and cold are returning tomorrow to mess up the Preakness weekend. We have hope that next week will be warm.

When I drove to Illinois last month I put something out of whack and my right leg has been bothering me ever since. This week I started having tingling and numbness down the leg. Patty and I were supposed to go to the York, PA quilt show today but we’re going tomorrow instead so I could go to the chiropractor today. I’ve never been to one before although I have considered going when I’ve had problems like this in the past. Would you believe that what prevented me from going was all the new patient paperwork? That’s finally behind me.

After I made the appointment yesterday afternoon, there’s been quite a bit of snap, crackle and popping which means things are moving around. I was sure that by the time I got to the appointment, whatever was wrong would have fixed itself, finally. It didn’t. This practice is owned by husband and wife who are both chiropractors and also offers physical therapy, massage and acupuncture. Everyone in the office was very friendly and things felt very peaceful. The wife was my doctor. I really like her. She explained things very well and I never felt she was in a hurry to get rid of me. She didn’t do any manipulations today, just evaluation. My right sacroiliac joint is stuck, not moving the way it is supposed to. When the doctor finished with me I was turned over to the physical therapist to learn some stretches to do. I go back Tuesday to discuss a treatment plan.

Tags:

One Response to “Lost and Found”

  1. stitchinggrandma Says:

    Glad to hear your flash drive has turned up. That trip to the chiropractic office will help you when you begin the treatment!

Leave a Reply

