Waiting

When I last wrote I was unhappy with the stitches my Bernina 1230 was making and dealing with the pain caused by a stuck joint. I haven’t been doing much sewing despite what you’ll see in the pictures. The new Janome 9400 became available at the end of May. I’m planning to go down to Capitol Quilts on Tuesday to get the grand tour. Unless something unexpected occurs, I plan to buy one. Will they have stock or will I have to wait for one to come from Janome? I’ll also have to order a new insert for my Horn cabinet – that takes a few weeks. I expect the stop in the cabinet will need to be adjusted. I’ve tried to do it for the Bernina but I can’t budge the bolt. A friend has offered her son’s services for that task – I’m going to take her up on it once I get the new machine. It will be a while before the new machine will be properly set up.

I’ll disperse the photos of what I’ve sewn since the last post throughout this post.

I was so disgusted with the Bernina that I sank it into the cabinet and set up my Jem Gold for stitching the applique blocks for Mimi’s grad school project. More on that in a later post. I’m caught up on that project so put the Jem back in the car and brought the Bernina out.

I decided to finish going through the books in the huge box in the guest storage room. I started that a year ago. That led to other excavations in that room and rearrangement of things which allowed me to get some bins out of the sewing room. Even though I wasn’t sewing I was please with what I accomplished. No, I’m not about to show before or after photos of that mess. I loaded up the car and took a bunch of stuff to Goodwill. That felt good.

20160617_113733.jpg

I feel like I haven’t had much time to sew, what with three chiropractic appointments a week which include physical therapy exercises and massage therapy once a week. The good news is that the pain is mostly gone and my joint mobility has improved but still not normal. I have three treatments again this week and then maybe go to two next week.

20160615_095222.jpg

The decorative piece above hangs in the massage therapy office. Doesn’t it remind you of a Cathedral Window quilt?

20160617_113756.jpg

One of the BOMs I want to make this year is Jinny Beyer’s Cosmos shown below. It is a free pattern but you can only get it if you get her monthly newsletter by email.

The picture above shows the two color ways of the kits available from Jinny’s store. I already had the same border print in a different color that is no longer available so I’m making it with my own fabrics. I cut the January and February blocks back in March but got sidetracked by other work and the broken sewing machine and forgot about the BOM until someone showed their blocks at the last JB Club meeting. I immediately sewed up the blocks I had cut. All the blocks use templates rather than rotary cutting so aren’t as quick to make. Do you think I’ll ever get caught up? The last 2 months are 8 applique blocks. The background is a very pale green which isn’t showing in the photo.

20160617_115711.jpg

I don’t expect to get much sewing done this week as I will be busy with events every day.

Are you a Row by Rower? I will stop and pick up a few Row by Row patterns in my travels this week. There are quite a few new to me stores in our area this year so I’m planning some all day trips. I enjoy seeing shops I’ve never been to before.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

