Row by Row: Bedford, PA

Last week at guild several of us were talking about the Row by Row Experience, Facebook swap groups for rows, rows we wanted, how easy it is to get a little crazy wanting every other row we see and so forth. Mary Beth really wanted a row from one of the three, yes, three, shops in Bedford, PA. When she asked her husband what he thought about her going there by herself, he suggested that she ask some friends to go with her and make a day of it. Isn’t he a keeper! In no time she had a full car organized.

Tuesday morning dawned and off we (Mary Beth, Beth, Patty and I) went. It’s a little over two hours to Bedford, depending on how heavy your foot is. I was on the passenger side in the back seat, a very unaccustomed position for me since I’m usually the driver. It felt odd to have no responsibilities for the day, just going with the flow.

Our first stop was Unique Stitches Quilt Shop. This is an attractive little shop with a contemporary flair. The owner was very pleasant and welcoming.

20160726_101849.jpg

Top row is 2016, bottom row on the scroll hanger is 2015.

I bought one of the scroll hangers shown above for hanging some of the results of all this row by rowing. I picked up the kit for this years row. We all got the pattern for the 2015 row. Mary Beth said we should all make this for our guild’s President’s “my summer vacation” challenge.

Last Friday at Quilt Odyssey in Hershey, PA, I saw these little monthly pieces in her booth. I meant to go back after lunch and take a second look but forgot. I made up for it at the shop. I had no idea it was her booth until we saw the samples laying on the table, waiting to be rehung in the store. The thing that really sold me on the kits is that she includes the themed hanger with each kit. I didn’t care for some of the months but two are on order as she sold out of them at the show.

From there we walked a block down the street to Mary’s Quilt Shop. Can you imagine having two quilt shops a block apart? Mary’s is the antithesis of Unique Stitches – strictly traditional style with reproduction fabrics. I’ve been to Mary’s twice before with the Baltimore Applique Society. Mary Koval is a well-known dealer/collector of antique quilts and designs fabric based on those in her antique quilts. Her husband, Joe, did the renovations on the church that is now their home and the building where her shop and retreat center are. I would love to spend a week in the retreat center. The other gals hadn’t seen it so Mary took us on a tour. I believe Mary said they are looking to renovate another building in town to accommodate larger events.

Mary designed a patriotic row that can be made vertically or horizontally. One version has a star in the corner, the other has a log cabin block. The last of the out-of-print eagle print in the border is being used in the row kits. When it’s gone, it’s gone.

20160729_111355.jpg

I got the rotary cutting templates for Panama Pyramids and the free row pattern.

Mary showed us her upcoming fabric lines and free quilt patterns that use the fabrics. I believe there may be a future trip to Mary’s in my future when the fabrics for the quilt below are available. My picture of the brochure doesn’t do it justice. Who doesn’t love a blue and white quilt?

20160726_104808.jpg

After our visit with Mary we headed out of town to Sewing Solutions. A few days before your first visit to this shop, go to the website to sign up for a 40% off coupon. You will be signed up for their email newsletter and the coupon will be emailed to you. If you don’t print it off, you can show it to them on your phone. This is an Amish/Mennonite owned store with something for everyone. This is the store with the row that Mary Beth wanted so badly. Can you see the writing in the top border? It says “Home is where our story begins.”

20160726_114132.jpg

20160729_111457.jpg

I got the free pattern, fabric plate and lovely collection of raspberry colored strips. Had to use my coupon on something, didn’t I?

We were all surprised that none of the Bedford shops had a Row by Row winner yet when we were there.

At that point we were starving and asked about nearby restaurants. When he said the Jean Bonnet was only a few miles away, that was all I needed to hear. I actively lobbied for lunch there – no one dissented. Ever since I moved to Maryland in 1981, I have seen this place from the interstate on my trips to and from Illinois. It reminds me very much of the Dobbin House Tavern in Gettysburg, PA. Since I wasn’t driving this time, I had a Summer Sunrise, sort of a rum punch drink. I thoroughly enjoyed lunch. They even have a goat paddock next to the parking lot. Next time I’ll have to go say hello to the goats.

The original plan was for us to head back toward home and stop at a couple of shops on the way. While we were waiting for our food, Mary Beth said there were several shops heading north and did we want to check them out instead? We looked at the rows to see if there were any we couldn’t live without. There weren’t, although I did see one I’d like to have but the shop was closed on Tuesdays. We decided to go ahead and visit the new-to-us shops because who knows if we’d ever be that way again.

Zimmerman’s Bernina Sewing (no online presence) in New Enterprise, PA is another Amish/Mennonite owned machine store with a small amount of fabric and supplies. We had trouble parking because there was a full class happening in the classroom and what appeared to be a small class in the fabric alcove. The (presumed) owner spent some time showing us the $10,000 Bernina 20″ long-arm in the sit-down table. The table and its built-in storage seems well designed. If I ever have room for such a thing, I’ll consider it. We appreciated his willingness to show us the machine even though we lived too far away to be customers for one.

20160729_135402.jpg

They were out of the free patterns so he happily made copies for us. I always try to find something to buy when I visit a shop, especially when I’m getting something for free. I’d never seen the Clover chalk thing in silver so brought one of those home with me.

Mary Beth’s GPS sent us down an obviously incorrect path for Country Beefers Quilt Shop in Roaring Spring, PA. We tried to call but the line was busy or there was no answer. We finally gave up and were on our way to the next one when we saw the shop. The owner told us the GPS problem is probably because her shop is the only one on that road with a Roaring Spring address. The rest are another town that I’ve forgotten. The name makes it sound like it should be a butcher shop, doesn’t it? Beefers came from combining two names, Ferrero and I’ve forgotten the other one, something that starts with Bee. The building the shop is in used to be her grandfather’s barn. It’s a quilt shop and country gift shop. Her row is cuter in person than in the online photo.

country beefers

20160729_110706.jpg

The only quilty thing I got was the fabric plate. My other finds were a pretty box with note paper, a coaster with a Christmas cat picture and some mint scented soap. I normally can’t do scents because they give me a headache but I thought I might be able to tolerate mint.

The scents in the shop were a little overwhelming for me so I headed outside to wait for the others. My phone was giving up the ghost but I took a chance to see if I could capture the beautiful sunflowers against the blue sky. Please keep in mind that I can’t see a darn thing on my phone when I’m outside in the sun, plus I was shooting toward the sun so I was doubly blinded. I think it came out pretty well, considering.

20160726_151037.jpg

Our final PA row by row stop was Traditions in Martinsburg, PA. This complex includes a restaurant and bakery, fabric, clothing and gift shop. My phone was dead so I didn’t get a picture of their row. Here’s the online picture.

20160729_110427.jpg

In addition to the free pattern, I found some shell and tractor buttons to enhance some of my rows. I need to remember to ask Dad what kind of tractor grandpa had on the farm. The schnauzer plaque is for my brother who has mini schnauzers. Do you think the dog in the plaque resemble Smokey (below)? Isn’t he cute in his graduation outfit? He looks very obedient here, doesn’t he? He is, sometimes.

After all that shopping we needed some ice cream before heading home! Richey’s Dairy was not far from Traditions. Two huge dips were less than $4. Amazing. Around here you’re lucky to get one small dip for that price. My choice was chocolate chip and peanut butter ripple.

We hoped that we’d get to Hagerstown, MD in time to stop at Traditions at the White Swan before they closed but that wasn’t possible. After Frederick was in the rear-view mirror we were on the home stretch, relatively speaking. Mary Beth wondered what time Patches in Mt. Airy closed. Beth looked it up and, wouldn’t you know, they were open till 7 p.m. I’m sure you can guess what happened. Of course we stopped at Patches.

20160726_182332.jpg

Jackie’s designs for Quilter’s Quest and Row by Row are always interesting.

20160729_110601.jpg

I found a package of die-cut crabs that had six blue and six red. I’m sure to find a use for those. I had to pick up the plate for someone in one of the Facebook swap groups. Patty only got the free pattern and the rest of us had checked out when Patty pointed out the rolls of Soft Fuse on the other side of the register. All four of us got back in line to check out a second time with a roll of fusible. Jackie was unusually affable at our antics and we all had a good laugh as we closed up the shop.

That was the end to a very fun day as we headed to our final destination of home. Very fitting as the Row by Row theme this year is Home Sweet Home.

 

Tags:

One Response to “Row by Row: Bedford, PA”

  1. Linda Says:

    Love those tractor buttons! 🙂. My Mom’s dog was a schnauser, too. Sounds like you all had a great day.

Leave a Reply

