Row by Row: Travel Edition

I didn’t stop at as many shops on my trip to Illinois this year as I did last year. I only stopped at two shops on my way out to Illinois, both in the Columbus area.

First was Calico Cupboard in Pataskala, OH. This was a reasonably sized shop in an old shopping center. They were having an open sew day in their classroom.

20160817_140413.jpg

They did horizontal and vertical versions of their row.

20160828_150619.jpg

I got the kit and a bunch of button packs. The buttons weren’t included in the kit. I chose an assortment that I’m sure will come in handy for other rows as well since there are more buttons than can be used on this row alone.

From there I headed to Columbus to meet Linda at Dabble and Stitch, a fairly new shop, strictly modern except for a couple of William Morris fat quarter towers. Seemed an odd thing for them to have.

20160817_150701.jpg

Their row is a modern version of the Columbus skyline. Reminded Linda and me of the slice of Baltimore quilt our Sew and Tell group made for Nancy. We wonder what happened to it after Nancy’s death.

20160828_150937.jpg

I got the kit and one of the William Morris towers. I couldn’t resist it.

I took one day while I was visiting mom and dad to visit a few shops around central Illinois.

The Village Stitchery Quilt Shop and Retreat Center in Oblong, IL was featured in the spring/summer 2016 Quilt Sampler magazine. I really like this shop. It was set up so that each type of fabric was in an alcove-feeling space. For example, patriotic was in one section, pink and brown repros in another, etc. It was worth the one hour plus drive.

20160820_093324.jpg

20160828_152613.jpg

Sorry for the blurry picture – guess I was in too much of a hurry. I got the kit, a nursery book print, and some pink and brown repros. I love pink and brown together.

Next stop was The Wooden Spool in Effingham, IL. It’s a nice sized shop for a small town. Odd hours though, closed at noon on Saturday.

20160820_110106.jpg

This was the row that was published as being their row.

20160820_110116.jpg

This was another row that they didn’t publish to the Illinois Row by Row site. All the camper collectors would go crazy for this one.

20160828_150229.jpg

I got some of the first row kits for a couple of people in the row swap group and one of the second row kits for me. Also found the pretty chicken print and bananas and oranges to add to my food print collection. Like I need another food fabric.

The last stop of the day was in Amish country, Stitch and Sew Fabrics in Arthur, IL. They do not have an online presence. They carry a little bit of everything including clothing fabric for the Amish.

20160820_131830.jpg

A nice farm row. Unfortunately, they ran out of the fabric that the small animals came from so I’ll have to figure out something else to do on my row. Who knows – maybe I have similar fabric.

20160828_150824.jpg

I only bought the kit. I did go next door to the fudge shop and get some Snickers fudge (delicious) and an Amish made basket to hold toilet paper rolls. Got some cheese at the cheese shop and deli across the street. If you ever find yourself in the Arthur area, go to the visitor’s center first and get info on all the local attractions. My favorite thing is that they have a public restroom.

From my parents’ place I headed north to Chicago to spend a couple of days with my brother before returning to Maryland. Of course, I had to visit some shops on my way. One of the shops I was planning to visit in Savoy closed at the end of July. So sad.

My first stop was A Quilting Bee in Mahomet, IL. This is a great shop.

20160823_102502.jpg

I really like this row.

20160828_151530.jpg

I got a kit and plate for me and for a couple of other people.

It was a short hop from there to Sew Sassy in Urbana, IL. This appealing shop is in the Lincoln Square Mall which is damn near dead. It looks like they’re trying to make it into an art/crafts mall. It seemed busier this year than it was last year.

20160823_111450.jpg

As a University of Illinois alum, I had to get this row with the U of I barns. I didn’t care for the plain grey fabric they used for the barns. They were one of two shops I visited that had maps for people to pin where they were from. Someone else from my area has been there already, unless they’re using a map with last year’s pins still in.

20160828_151738.jpg

Orange and blue fabrics (U of I colors) and fall fabrics were on sale for back to school. I found a few I couldn’t live without. The brown is for a quilt I’m making for a friend. I like the movement in the print. I got the row pattern.

My next stop was a spur of the moment change of mind. Kathy’s Needle and I is going out of business. I learned that in July and arranged for someone to get the row kit for me, thinking the store would be gone like the Savoy shop. I subsequently learned that the shop wouldn’t be closing until the end of October.

20160823_121606.jpg

Kathy loves her Scotty dogs. They remind me of my brother’s black mini-Schnauzer.

20160828_152004.jpg

Everything was 30% off. I picked up some more food fabrics. The chocolates are arranged in hexagons. How could I not get that? I also have a significant collection of cat fabrics. I’m much more selective now but found one to add to the herd. Although I have a ton of neutrals I couldn’t resist the strip pack. Also got some 505 spray (don’t let me buy any more until I use some – I’ve got at least 3 bottles now) and marking pencil remover. I think I’ve got the pencil that the remover is designed for.

My last quilt shop stop was Prairieland Quilts in Cissna Park, IL. Very small town with a great quilt shop.

20160823_132934.jpg

A studio row.

20160823_131850.jpg

The winning quilt in their shop. I like how the maker used elements from the rows in the borders. I recognized all the rows except the bottom three. I’ll have to post them in the swap group and see if anyone can identify them.

20160828_152250.jpg

I got the kit and fabric plate and some patterns on sale. What do you want to be that I already have at least one of the Pacific Rim patterns? I love Lori Smith’s patterns (the one on top).

There were a couple of rows in the Chicago area that I really wanted so I headed out one day to get them.

quiltfabric.com in Westmont, IL has to be one of my all-time favorite shops. I’m so glad I don’t live closer. If you want it, they’ve probably got it. Being in that store just makes me happy.

20160824_111326.jpg

This is why I went there. I lived in the city of Chicago from 1976-1981.

20160828_151302.jpg

I got the kit and plate for me and the kit for a member of the swap group.

My other stop, Quilters Quest in Woodridge, IL, always gives me pause because the name of the Maryland/Virginia shop hop is Quilter’s Quest. Makes for more than a little confusion, I’m sure.

20160824_120647.jpg

Another Chicago skyline. I think this might be Navy Pier. I bought the kit but they were out so they should be mailing it to me as soon as they get new ones made. It’s been a week. I’ll give them another week before asking about it.

That was it for Chicago this year. In past years, I’ve done a full days complement of 6-8 shops. Now that I’ve seen a lot of the stores, I only go if I really want their row.

There were three shops for the trip home to Maryland.

Stone Soup Batiks in Mishawaka, IN was the first stop. Isn’t that a great name? Despite the name it isn’t all batiks. I wasted time going to the wrong address, mislead by She Who Must Be Obeyed. With the new map dvd, more stores show up in the points of interest database. Unfortunately, I failed to compare the GPS address with the actual address. Apparently the store moved at some point.

Narrow, long shop in a large, older shopping center. The batiks were all displayed to make one long wall of color. Other fabrics filled the rest of the shop.

I thought I took a picture of their row in situ but I don’t seem to have one.

20160828_153259.jpg

I got the kit. She includes a full color glossy print of the row with the kit. You can see how big the print is on the cutting mat – about 5″ x 16″. Who does that? That’s almost half the size of the row.

Lavender Patch Fabric and Quilts in Bristol, IN was a shop I visited for the first time last year.

20160826_111909.jpg

Their row in a frame.

20160826_111707.jpg

Their row in a quilt.

20160828_153428.jpg

The kit is the only thing I got. Patty wanted their fabric plate but it was sold out.

My last stop was Quilts and Kreations in South Amherst, OH, another shop I visited last year.

20160826_151316.jpg

Isn’t this a fabulous row?

20160828_153543.jpg

I got kits and fabric plates for me and two friends who requested them.

Patty was hoping I would get to Pittsburgh in time to stop and get the stacked pumpkins row there but it wasn’t to be. I was still in Ohio when that store closed at 5. There were lots of lane closures for construction and heavy traffic that added at least an hour to my trip. I didn’t get home until 10 pm. I was pooped.

I believe that’s the end of 2016 Row by Row travelogues. I won’t be boring you with the rows I’ve gotten through the swap group or pre-orders for November because I don’t want anyone to see how many I end up with. And, I promise, I was being selective.

I do need to go through my row collection and decide which ones to offer for sale on the swap group. There are some I definitely won’t make. Patty had me sell one or two for her since she doesn’t use PayPal.

I think some of us from guild are going to get together for some Row by Row sew-ins.

 

 

 

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

