FCQ Sew-in

Back in the late 1990s when I joined Faithful Circle Quilters, we had sew-ins every month or two. We had to stop when the church where we meet was undergoing renovations. When we started having sew-ins again, they always seemed to be on the second Saturday of the month so I couldn’t go because that is Jinny Beyer Club day. Then the sew-ins stopped again.

Our current president is trying to get the sew-ins started again and scheduled one for today. Usually a member presents an optional project for people to work on. I was able to go but had no intention of doing the project. This was the perfect time to get the borders put on Allietare, Bonnie Hunter’s 2015 mystery quilt.

What do you see when you look at the quilt below?

20161022_102008.jpg

This is the project that Nancy presented – galoshes. I saw the boots and didn’t think anything of it. However, the Jews in our guild who are children of Holocaust survivors immediately saw swastikas and found it offensive. I found a picture of one on the internet that was gray, black and red and that one definitely looked like swastikas. I can’t find it now to post a link to it.

Caren worked on Flying Home, the Missouri Star Quilt Company video from several weeks ago.

20161022_101955.jpg

The ladies working hard:

A few others came later in the morning. It wasn’t a huge turnout but it was a nice number of folks which gave everyone plenty of room to work.

I finished getting the borders on Allietare after lunch. I had cut two lengths of fabric for the outer borders several months ago but didn’t have enough space at home to comfortably measure and place the inner borders for mitering. I should have measured the width of the outer border strips before I sewed them to the inner border because when I added the other two borders to the quilt, they were bigger than the first two. Oh, well, better too big than too small. I’ll have to carefully fold the top to trim those edges before taking it to the quilter.

20161022_133908.jpg

I love this! I changed the inner border to use the same color as the side triangles because I like the way it ties them together. There were lots of compliments on the color combination. My colors were based on the Hoffman floral fabric shown below:

wpid-20151122_113410.jpg

This is a closeup of the outer border fabric but the color in the photo is lighter than it really is. It has streaks of pink and purple in it so it went perfectly with the body of the quilt. This is a Jinny Beyer print as is the inner border fabric.

20160109_110251.jpg

I hoped to get the back finished as well, but that didn’t happen. I made pieces for the back several months ago when work on the top halted. I couldn’t complete the back then because I didn’t know how big it needed to be until the top was done. I was able to get some of the panels cut to the right width and sewn to each other but there’s still a lot of work to do to finish the back. That’s the agenda for this week. I have to get Allietare to the quilter before this year’s mystery starts next month.

 

 

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “FCQ Sew-in”

  1. Koojiebear Says:

    Yayyy almost completed! It looks gorgeous. Amazing that it’s coming up to another mystery soon. Can’t wait to see what happens this year!

  2. stitchinggrandma Says:

    I like the boots quilt and didn’t see swastika. I have in red black and white pinwheel quilts in the past. Lovely job on Allietare. I do like the border color change. Mine is waiting for the final border. ….

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.