En Provence: Clue 2

All of my scheduled holiday events occurred between Thursday, December 1 and Monday, December 5 so I didn’t think I’d get clue 2 done by the link-up day.

My quilt guild meets weekly except in December when we only meet the first week. Last Thursday was our daytime group’s December meeting and holiday pot luck. First event over.

On Friday, Linda and I went to lunch, then down to Bellwether’s open house. Dick and Jean Fries are brokers for hand quilting by Amish quilters. Jean also makes quilts for sale and still has some patterns for sale. She said this is the last year for the open house. This was my first time going so I’m glad we did. We didn’t get back until late afternoon due to excessive traffic. Why aren’t those people at work? So, no mystery quilt work took place on Friday.

Saturday I stayed home to rest, trying to encourage this respiratory bug to go away. I am getting better but it’s very slow. I decided that for clue 2 I would use my Accuquilt die. I dragged myself out of bed at the crack of 10:30 and went down to the studio to cut fabric. For these units I decided to starch the fabric before running it through the Go. The starch helps stabilize the bias edges. I got both background and constant strips cut and starched before lunch.

Mid-afternoon I went back downstairs to cut the pieces for the units. After running the first few sets of background fabrics through I realized that I better start counting or I’d have a boatload of extra pieces. I ended up with one extra background and a handful of extra side pieces for one side. I ran several pieces of short constant strips through and forgot that half of them needed to be wrong side up. But, it worked out because as I was sewing I found two pieces for that side that had selvage in them. I was glad to have the extra pieces to swap out.

20161203_200827.jpg

Sets of pieces all counted out and ready to sew.

I didn’t expect to get the units sewed before Tuesday but found myself bored on Saturday evening so went down to sew. I watched the pilot episode of Designated Survivor on demand. I thought I’d recorded all the episodes after that but I was missing episode 2. Darn it. The series is far enough along that it isn’t available free on demand so I went on to episode 3. These units go through the machine pretty quickly when done in groups of ten. Good thing since Sunday and Monday are away from home events.

20161203_222025.jpg

Finished units.

Sunday was the Sew and Tell holiday edition. There are currently ten local members who swap holiday gifts in December. Here’s all the loot laid out, nice and neat before the feeding frenzy.

20161204_135012.jpg

Usually there’s a free-for-all as soon as the gifts are laid out but this year everybody acted like grown-ups. We sewed and talked a while and waited until after we ate and had show and tell – about two hours. Some people wrap the gifts and put name tags on, others wrap but don’t assign them, others don’t wrap. Beth always goes beyond what’s necessary. Everything she does is impeccable. Her gifts were in holiday Chinese takeout boxes. When I opened mine I found two wrapped items inside. It would never occur to me to wrap items I was putting inside another wrapping. So, what was in all those pretty packages?

Clear medical tape wrapped in a piece of fabric. The tape is good to put on the bottom of rulers and templates to prevent slippage. I bought some earlier this year so I probably have a lifetime supply now. I haven’t opened the magnet lights yet so can’t say anything about them.

The long zipper and trims came with a challenge to make something with them. Probably not going to happen any time soon. We had to choose among a sewing machine, the scissors I chose or a spool of thread with a needle. It’s a cute led light to hang on a key chain or bag. We also got to choose from several of the new Moda “merit” badges. Of course, I had to choose “Kiss my Stash!”

This ingenious thread snip keeps the snips inside the cover so you can’t lose it. There’s a button on the side that slides the snips out and back in.

Who can’t use nice, long, thin pins? Especially with the way I’m bending pins lately. I just noticed that there is something tucked into the twill tape labels. Wonder what it is? It’s two floors down so I’ll find out tomorrow. The silicon trivet thingies should work for an iron. I’ll have to try that. I have a cordless iron and when I just want to put it down for a few seconds to adjust things, I put it flat on the ironing board instead of back in its cradle. These might save scorching the ironing board cover.

20161205_162828.jpg

Add some borders and quilting to this panel and I’ve got a quilt. If one wanted, one could cut all the pieces apart and do something clever with them. That’s not likely to happen.

20161205_165513.jpg

I gave these zipper pouches. Linda got shades of pink. The rest got the above or shades of blue. I have no idea what to use it for.

I always look forward to Monday because my guild’s night group meets then. As with the day group, we only meet once in December. The first Monday of the month is also Mimi’s Grad School group. Every December I wish one group met a different day because each has a potluck for the December meeting. That means a potluck for lunch and another potluck for dinner. Oy vey! Two potlucks in one day is a little much. Added to Sew and Tell on Sunday, that makes three potlucks in two days. With the guild party last Thursday, that’s four potlucks in 5 days. Too much of a good thing.

See how others are doing on the mystery at the link-up.

And now I have to go cook for tonight’s potluck.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “En Provence: Clue 2”

  1. Judy Says:

    Looks like you have been very busy. Some fun gift ideas here. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

