Hometown Girl

The Maryland Historical Society has been running a year-long exhibit of Mimi Dietrich’s quilts. It is coming to an end mid-March. If you are in the area, I highly recommend going. Three antique Baltimore Album quilts are also included in the exhibit.

Mimi has led over 50 tours of the exhibit so far. Contact the museum to arrange a tour with Mimi for your group. For those of you who can’t make it to the museum to see the quilts in person, she is doing a virtual tour on her blog. Start with this post and read forward. She might actually get to a quilt in the next post. I suspect she’ll do one quilt a day or perhaps a group of related quilts as a post.

I’ve known Mimi since 1998 when I took her year-long Baltimore Album class (no, it isn’t finished) and I was surprised by a couple of the quilts in the exhibit that I’d not seen before. The Hon (you have to be familiar with Baltimore to get this) quilt advertising the exhibit was a surprise when Mimi first showed it because it is very non-Mimi in style. It’s one of my favorites and is a lot of fun because it is full of iconic Baltimore things. I’m sure she’ll explain all the details in this quilt when it gets its turn in a post. The only reason I get this quilt is because I’ve lived in the Baltimore-Washington area since 1982 and have received the appropriate education in things Baltimorean.

Please check out the virtual tour and continue to follow it as she progresses through the exhibit.

Tags:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.